Subscribe to Canadian Geographic
La Société géographique royale du Canada et Canadian Geographic présentent :
Projet d'oiseau national
Projet d'oiseau national

Éducation

Canadian Geographic Education

Canadian Geographic en classe
Vous voulez faire participer vos élèves au Projet d’oiseau national? Téléchargez un plan de leçon « Canadian Geographic dans la classe » gratuit ici et demandez à vos élèves de soumettre leur texte dès aujourd’hui!

Vous avez besoin de vous rafraîchir la mámoire à propos de certains oiseaux du Canada? Voyez nos fiches d’information ici.


Canadian Geographic Éducation
Can Geo Éducation a pour mission de renforcer l’engagement envers la géographie dans les classes de la maternelle à la fin du secondaire à travers le pays. À titre de comité éducatif de la Société géographique royale du Canada, Can Geo Éducation produit des ressources bilingues gratuites, comme CG dans la classe, pour renforcer l’enseignement de la géographie au Canada.

Les enseignants peuvent s’inscrire et devenir membres gratuitement sur education.canadiangeographic.ca.

Venez visiter cette page pour lire des articles rédigés par des ornithologues, des écologistes, des agents de protection de la nature et des éducateurs tandis que le Projet d’oiseau national est en cours. Vous découvrirez des espèces d’oiseaux peu connues au Canada, mais qui sont tout aussi fascinantes. De plus, vous apprendrez au sujet de la recherche et de la protection de l’habitat, des programmes scientifiques pour les citoyens qui invitent dans la nature, du suivi des oiseaux et de la collecte de données précieuses pour les scientifiques, et encore davantage.




L’oiseau national du Canada : quelques candidats négligés

par Jody Allair, biologiste et éducateur en sciences, Études d’Oiseaux Canada

Les oiseaux sont attrayants, captivants, omniprésents et particulièrement aptes à servir d’intermédiaires entre les êtres humains et la nature. Le plaisir que procure l’observation des oiseaux croît avec l’usage : plus on la pratique, plus on veut découvrir et apprendre.

Les oiseaux ont toujours pris une part importante dans ma vie. Pourtant, quand j’ai commencé à les observer, je n’avais jamais entendu parler du Bruant à face noire ou de la Paruline du Canada. Mais est-ce que ce relatif anonymat rend ces deux espèces non admissibles au titre d’emblème aviaire du Canada?

Il n’est pas étonnant que certains pays aient choisi de gros oiseaux puissants et flamboyants — comme le Pygargue à tête blanche ou le Condor des Andes — pour les représenter. Il existe toutefois bon nombre d’oiseaux nationaux de petite taille et à l’apparence moins ostentatoire, tels le Merle à ventre roux (Brésil), la Grive mauvis (Turquie) et l’Hirondelle rustique (Autriche). À l’heure actuelle, deux oiseaux chanteurs, le Mésangeai du Canada et la Mésange à tête noire, ont obtenu assez de voix pour figurer parmi les cinq premiers aspirants au titre chez nous. Et le Grand Corbeau, notre plus gros oiseau chanteur, n’est pas loin derrière.

Pour moi, un des aspects les plus intéressants du concours visant à désigner notre emblème aviaire national est l’occasion qu’il donne aux gens de mieux apprécier l’incroyable diversité des espèces d’oiseaux qui vivent chez nous. À mon avis, trois espèces méritent qu’on s’y attarde : le Bruant à face noire, la Paruline du Canada et le Junco ardoisé.

Le Bruant à face noire
Ce gros bruant paré de couleurs vives est un vrai habitant des régions sauvages; la zone de transition située entre la forêt boréale et la toundra du Bas Arctique est son territoire de prédilection. Son aire de reproduction s’étend vers l’est depuis le delta du Mackenzie jusqu’à l’extrême nord de l’Ontario. Elle est si lointaine que le Bruant à face noire est un des derniers oiseaux chanteurs du continent dont on a découvert des nids et des œufs. L’espèce hiverne dans toute la région des Grandes Plaines aux États Unis. Pourquoi faudrait il qu’elle figure parmi les aspirantes au titre d’emblème aviaire du Canada? Eh bien, ce bruant est le seul de nos oiseaux chanteurs qui est endémique. Autrement dit, il ne niche pas ailleurs qu’au Canada. Il est donc on ne peut plus canadien!

La Paruline du Canada
Son seul nom fait de cet oiseau un candidat, sans compter que son magnifique plumage l’avantage. L’aire de reproduction de l’espèce s’étend depuis le nord est de la Colombie Britannique jusqu’en Nouvelle Écosse en couvrant tout le sud de la forêt boréale et de l’Ontario ainsi que le nord est des États Unis et toute la région des Appalaches. À quel point cette paruline mérite t elle son nom? Environ 80 % de la population niche au Canada. L’ensemble de la population passe l’hiver dans le nord de l’Amérique du Sud, principalement dans les Andes. Les données du Relevé des oiseaux nicheurs révèlent que les effectifs de l’espèce ont fortement chuté ces 40 dernières années (en moyenne de 2,9 % par année depuis 1970). Cette paruline est désignée espèce menacée au palier fédéral depuis 2008. Les changements survenus dans les forêts boréales au Canada et la perte d’habitat dans l’aire d’hivernage comptent parmi les causes du déclin de la population. Si l’on manifeste une plus grande fierté à l’endroit de la Paruline du Canada et qu’on fait davantage connaître sa situation critique, cela ne pourra que lui être bénéfique à long terme.

Le Junco ardoisé
Au premier abord, le choix de cette espèce comme candidate au titre d’oiseau national du Canada peut paraître discutable. Celle-ci est toutefois présente partout sur notre territoire. Notre junco niche dans nos forêts de conifères et hiverne dans tout le sud du pays ainsi qu’aux États-Unis. Contrairement au Bruant à face noire et à la Paruline du Canada, il est un de nos oiseaux forestiers les plus répandus et les plus communs. Et il est très familier aux nombreuses personnes qui nourrissent les oiseaux l’hiver. Le Junco ardoisé est une des espèces le plus fréquemment signalées par les participants au Projet FeederWatch d’Études d’Oiseaux Canada, une activité de science citoyenne qui se déroule sur tout notre continent. La désignation d’une espèce familière comme emblème aviaire national pourrait présenter plusieurs avantages. Entre autres, encourager les citoyens à prêter un peu plus d’attention aux juncos et aux autres oiseaux fréquentant les mangeoires pourrait être un bon point de départ pour qui souhaite inciter plus de gens à apprécier et préserver l’avifaune!

Je conçois que des espèces populaires comme le Plongeon huard, le Harfang des neiges et la Bernache du Canada obtiendront la majorité des voix. Je souhaite cependant attirer l’attention sur le vaste choix offert et les mérites de certaines autres espèces possibles. Si c’est ici que vous avez fait connaissance avec le Bruant à face noire, j’aurai atteint mon but!

Le projet de désignation de l’oiseau national du Canada fournit une magnifique occasion de mieux faire connaître les oiseaux fascinants de notre pays. Il vaut la peine de prendre le temps d’examiner la liste de tous les candidats et d’en savoir plus sur d’intéressantes espèces comme le Tétras du Canada, le Bécasseau semipalmé et le Durbec des sapins. Mon conseil : faites connaissance avec toutes les espèces en lice. Vous pourriez en découvrir une que vous aimeriez observer dans la nature. Ce qui serait en soi un résultat plus qu’appréciable.

Jody Allair est une naturaliste et observatrice d’oiseaux passionnée. En tant que biologiste et éducatrice scientifique pour Études d'Oiseaux Canada, elle coordonne le Bird Science and Environmental Education Program, le Southern Ontario Bald Eagle Monitoring Project, le Ontario Nocturnal Owl Survey et d’autres projets de recherche variés concernant les espèces en danger. Jody a voyagé partout au Canada et aux États-Unis, en Amérique centrale, dans les Caraïbes et en Nouvelle-Zélande.


--ADVERTISEMENT--

Canadian Geographic Magazine
Canadian Atlas Online | Canadian Geographic Photo Club | Kids | Canadian Contests | Canadian Lesson Plans

Royal Canadian Geographical Society | Canadian Geographic Education | Canadian Geographic Challenge | Canadian Award for Environmental Innovation

Jobs | Internships | Submission Guidelines

© 2017 Canadian Geographic Enterprises

Canadian Atlas
The Royal Canadian Geographical Society and Canadian Geographic present
National Bird Project - Vote for Canada's National Bird
National Bird Project - Vote for Canada's National Bird

Birds 101

Canadian Geographic Education

Canadian Geographic in the Classroom
Looking to engage your students with the National Bird Project? Download a free “Can Geo in the Classroom” lesson plan and have your students submit their supporting essays today!

Need a refresher on some Canadian bird facts? Check out our fact sheets here.


Canadian Geographic Education
Can Geo Education’s mission is to strengthen geographic engagement in K-12 classrooms across the country. As the educational committee of The Royal Canadian Geographical Society, Can Geo Education produces free, bilingual resources such as Canadian Geographic in the Classroom to enhance geographic education in Canada.

Teachers can register to become a member free of charge at education.canadiangeographic.ca.

Come to this space while the National Bird Project is underway to read articles by ornithologists, ecologists, conservationists and educators. You'll find out about some of Canada's little-known but no less fascinating bird species, about habitat protection and research, about citizen science programs that get you out in the field, tracking birds and collecting valuable data for scientists, and more.



A case for the ‘underbird’

Jody Allair, Biologist and Science Educator, Bird Studies Canada

Birds are attractive, captivating, ubiquitous and uniquely suited to connect people with the natural world. Birding is wonderfully addictive — the more you do it, the more you want to see and learn.

Birds have always been an important part of my life. But when I started out birding in my hometown of Peterborough, Ont., I had never heard of a Harris’s sparrow or Canada warbler. Does their relative obscurity mean they are not suited for the title of Canada’s National Bird?

It’s not surprising that some countries choose large, powerful and flamboyant species — such as the bald eagle or Andean condor — as their emblems. But there are also many national birds that are smaller and less conspicuous, such as the rufous-bellied Thrush (Brazil), the redwing (Turkey) and the barn swallow (Austria). As I write this essay, two songbirds (gray jay and black-capped chickadee) have received enough votes to reach Canada’s current top five. Common raven (our country’s largest songbird) is not far behind.

For me, one of the most exciting aspects of this competition to choose a national bird is the opportunity for people to learn more about the amazing variety of birds that call Canada home. Three species that I feel deserve a closer look are the Harris’s sparrow, Canada warbler, and dark-eyed junco.

Harris’s sparrow
A true bird of the wilderness, this large and boldly-patterned sparrow can be found in the transition zone between the boreal forest and the low arctic tundra. Its breeding range stretches east from the Mackenzie River Delta to the northernmost section of Ontario — such a remote region that the Harris’s sparrow was one of the last North American songbirds to have its nest and eggs discovered. It winters throughout the central U.S. Great Plains region. Why consider the Harris’s sparrow for our national bird? It has the distinction of being Canada’s only endemic breeding songbird. This means it does not nest anywhere else in the world. Can’t get much more Canadian than that!

Canada warbler
Having Canada in its name makes this songbird a contender, and being strikingly beautiful helps too. Its breeding range runs from northeastern British Columbia across the southern boreal forest region to Nova Scotia, and also extends into southern Ontario, the northeastern U.S., and through the Appalachians. How Canadian is this species? About 80 per cent of all Canada warblers breed in Canada. The entire population winters in northern South America, primarily in the Andes. According to the Canadian Breeding Bird Survey, Canada warbler populations have declined significantly over the last 40 years (on average, 2.9 per cent per year since 1970). The species has been federally designated as Threatened since 2008. Reasons for population declines include changes in Canada’s boreal forests and habitat loss in wintering areas. Greater national pride in the Canada warbler and increased awareness of its plight could only benefit this bird in the long run.

Dark-eyed junco
The dark-eyed junco may not be an immediately obvious choice for Canada’s National Bird. But this attractive songbird can be found throughout the country. It breeds in Canada’s coniferous forests, and winters across southern Canada and the U.S. Unlike the Harris’s sparrow or the Canada warbler, the dark-eyed junco is one of our country’s most widespread and common forest birds. And it’s well known to the many people who feed birds each winter. The dark-eyed junco is one of the most frequently reported birds monitored through Bird Studies Canada’s Project FeederWatch, a North America-wide citizen science program. Choosing a familiar species as Canada’s national bird could offer several advantages. Inspiring citizens to pay a bit more attention to juncos and other backyard birds might be a good place to start for those of us who want to engage more people in bird appreciation and conservation!

I realize there is a good chance that popular species such as the common loon, snowy owl and Canada goose will garner the most votes through the National Bird Project. Personally, my goal is to draw attention to the wealth of options available, and the merits of some other candidates. If this is the first time you’ve ever heard about the Harris’s sparrow, then I’ve accomplished my mission!

The National Bird Project provides a wonderful opportunity to raise awareness about Canada’s fascinating birds. It’s well worth taking the time to explore the full list of options, and learn more about great birds such as the spruce grouse, semi-palmated sandpiper, and pine grosbeak. My advice: get to know all of the candidates. You may discover a bird on this list that you’d like to see in the wild. To me, that would be the best outcome of all.

Jody Allair is an avid birder and naturalist, who as biologist and science educator for Bird Studies Canada coordinates the Bird Science and Environmental Education Program, the Southern Ontario Bald Eagle Monitoring Program, the Ontario Nocturnal Owl Survey and various species-at-risk research projects.

Jody has birded across Canada and the United States, in Central America, the Caribbean and New Zealand.


--ADVERTISEMENT--

Canadian Geographic Magazine
Canadian Atlas Online | Canadian Geographic Photo Club | Kids | Canadian Contests | Canadian Lesson Plans

Royal Canadian Geographical Society | Canadian Geographic Education | Canadian Geographic Challenge | Canadian Award for Environmental Innovation

Jobs | Internships | Submission Guidelines

© 2017 Canadian Geographic Enterprises